Clock Towers and Climbing Them

Yesterday, my fellow reporters were invited to tour the third (and fourth, and technically fifth) floors of our local county courthouse. These are the uppermost reaches of the courthouse, that was erected in 1876 through 1877.

I really had to force myself to climb the Bob ladder. You’ll see it. The floors were rickety and the stairs were super vertical, with only one side railed. But I wanted to see those mechanisms that ran that clock and bell, damn it! So I sucked it up and climbed. And climbed. And climbed.

And I was rewarded with these photographs.

Josh is going to be doing a Diversions on the courthouse aerie in the next couple of weeks. But I’m not doing a story. I was just along for the ride because I’m nosy and the biggest benefit of this job is access.

8 thoughts on “Clock Towers and Climbing Them

Leave a Reply

