Bedtime Stories and Suicidal Ideation

I read to my kids every night. Every single night. I can’t remember the last time they went to bed without me reading them a book.

Normally, we read things like The Missing Piece, by Shel Silverstein. Or Six Dinner Sid, by Inga Moore. The Mysterious Tadpole, by Steven Kellogg, and Elbert’s Bad Word, by Audrey and Don Wood, are some of our recent favorites.

And then there’s Pete the Cat. I’m normally neutral on the whole Pete the Cat issue. But reading Pete the Cat: TheWheels on the Bus?

I mean, the repetition is enough to drive an adult who’s been adulting for 12 plus hours straight over the cliff of appropriate emotional responses, at the bottom of which they will absolutely explode in a firey, hellish episode of psychological burnination.

And say words which they then have to explain why, for their four-year-olds, it’s inappropriate to say. And then justify their own bad behavior with jargon-y big words. Like “deflection.” Which is the cognitive fallacy around which the entire teachable moment revolves.

If I were to write a review for this book on Amazon, it would read:

“This book makes me want to

kill myself,

kill myself,

kill myself.

This book makes me want to

shoot myself.

In. The. Face.”

2 thoughts on “Bedtime Stories and Suicidal Ideation

  1. Ha, ha, that was so funny i’m still giggling away here. But so true and I know exactly what you mean even though my memories are very old, I can still remember those days plus I have a 4 yr old great grandchild. Soon they’ll be reading themselves and then the problem of having to monitor what they read comes along and they’ll soon find a way to get around that. Aren’t kids fun, lol!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

