Reservoirs and Garbage

Hey guys.

It’s been a long time.

I’m sorry. Really. But I’ve been trying to readjust myself from tropical paradise to actual, you know, life.

I’ve been a little blue. And a lot distracted. And I’m sorry. So I have some catching up to do, first of all:

Here’s a Timmy for you:

Here and here are the past two weeks’ worth of columns. I’m particularly partial to this week’s, as I am desperately in love with Norma Bates right now.

It’s becoming a problem.

Okay. Moving on.

As I may have mentioned while I was in Hawaii, I basically devoted every minute of the day to (1) being in, on, or around the water and (2) finding ways to get in, on, or around the water.

Pennsylvania’s water is neither as warm nor as clear as the ocean. But we do have Lake Perfidy, or if you prefer, the Kinzua Dam. It’s kind of a big, messy deal. That’s why Johnny Cash sang about it.

Observe:

And today was the thirteenth annual reservoir cleanup. A combination of different agencies and groups get together once a year to clean up 45 years worth of littering that’s accumulated in the lake and washes up on the shore as the water rises and falls.

This is the fourth or fifth year the cleanup has been on the northern part of the reservoir, which crosses into New York state and includes a portion of the land belonging to the Seneca Nation.

Here are some pictures of the Onoville Marina, where the cleanup is headquartered each year. It’s a lot more Frozen and less Moana than my previous water photos, as you’ll see.

Representatives from the Seneca Nation, the US Forest Service, the Army Corps of Engineers, and Warren County Adult Probation & Parole, among numerous others, make the cleanup happen each year. Private citizens also get in on the action.

The amount of junk found just in the two hours I spent with the Corps guys was astonishing. I spent a great portion of my childhood on this lake and never remember seeing this much garbage. But it’s here, and it’s working its way onto shore every day. Over the years of cleanup, less and less has been found on the southern portion of the reservoir, which is why the cleanup has moved north. It means that the volunteers who make this happen every year are making a difference.

But just check out some of this crap!

I think all of the volunteers deserve a huge thumbs up.

Alrighty. That’s it for me today. This Friday is the girls’ last day of preschool and the Erie Zoo trip. I’ll post pictures of their graduation and the zoo next weekend.

Until then, behave yourselves, you wild animals.

 

Leave a Reply

