The Fourth and Small Towns

The Fourth of July is kind of a big deal in our little town of Warren, Pa.

There’s nothing wrong with that. I mean, I’m not particularly patriotic, especially considering the ass clown we’ve got as the face of our apparently doomed nation at the moment.

But whatever. It’s good art for the paper.

I’ll be kind of glad when it’s over, because that means we’ll be closer to my personal favorite time of year. Bring on October and falling leaves and the smell of campfires and Halloween.

Autumn is my jam, y’all.

But right now it’s the hot, humid, middle of summer and I kind of vaguely want to kill myself all of the time.

It’s gross. I’m not saying I enjoy winter, or snow, but damn. This is too much. I’d be thrilled to visit Alaska for the next few months.

 

Leave a Reply

